21st Annual AVC Graduate Studies and Research Days

Graduate students at the Atlantic Veterinary College showcased their research at the College's 21st annual Graduate Studies and Research Days, held on May 16 and 17.

The students presented their research findings in topics that covered animal health, fish health and marine research, and biomedical science and human health. **Dr. Thijs Kuiken**, Professor of Comparative Pathology, Department of Virology, Erasmus MC, The Netherlands, presented this year's R.G. Thomson Lecture, which was entitled "Twelve years of research on influenza: expecting the unexpected." The R.G. Thomson Lecture is an



endowed annual lecture that honours AVC's founding dean, Dr. Reginald Thomson.

Dr. Henrik Stryhn, Professor, Biostatistics, Department of Health Management, presented the Zoetis Research Excellence Award lecture. His lecture was titled "Applied statistics at AVC: How to deal with repeated measures data."

The following is a list of the awards that were presented at the conclusion of the two-day event:

2012 G. Murray and Hazel Hagerman Scholarship:

Jennifer Burns, MSc student, Department of Health Management. This scholarship provides one year of tuition for a graduate student; it was awarded in October 2012 at AVC's annual Fall Awards and Recognition Night.



The Zoetis Graduate Student Award:

Marguerite Cameron, PhD student, Department of Health Management. This scholarship is to assist graduate students in their quest for graduate degrees, <u>diplomas</u> or certificates in the area of veterinary medical research.

The Zoetis Research Excellence Award:

Dr. Henrik Stryhn, Professor, Biostatistics, Department of Health Management. This award is to foster innovative research, on which the scientific advancement of the profession depends, by recognizing outstanding research effort and productivity.





The Dr. E. Errol Hancock Scholarship:

Dr. Carrie Lavers, PhD student, Department of Health Management. This scholarship is awarded to a graduate student from Nova Scotia with the highest academic standing.

The John & Carol MacLeod Award for Research Communication Excellence:

Jessica Livingston-Thomas, PhD student, Department of Biomedical Sciences. This award is given to a graduate student at AVC, who is performing research and exemplifies skill and ability in the delivery of research findings to their peers and/or the public through written and/or oral communication.

OGS Award of Distinction (awarded at the 2013 UPEI Senior Class Awards Ceremony, May 10):



Fernanda Dorea, PhD, Department of Health Management. This award recognizes a convocating graduate student from AVC who excelled in their graduate program, and/or made outstanding contributions to their faculty, university and discipline. Dr. Dorea received her PhD at Convocation on May 11.

Dr. Douglas W. Ehresmann Graduate Award:

Anil Kalupahana, PhD student, Department of Pathology and Microbiology. This award is presented to a student performing outstanding research in some aspect of virology.

Dr. Ian R. Dohoo Award:

Omid Nekouei Jahromi, MSc student, Department of Health Management. This award is granted to a graduate student currently registered in the specialization of Epidemiology/Health Management at AVC to support travel for presentation of the recipient's scholarly work at a national or international conference.



Dr. Ray Long Travel Award:

Jennifer Cuillerier, PhD student, Department of Biomedical Sciences. This award is given to for one or more graduate students studying at AVC in support of travel costs associated with presentation of research results at an appropriate scientific meeting.

Dr. Basil Ikede Award in Diagnostic Veterinary Sciences:

Dania Villarnovo, MVSc student, Department of Pathology and Microbiology. This award is available to a first or second year MVSc student at AVC to assist with travel to present his or her research or diagnostic findings at a scientific or professional meeting.

Best Paper Presentation Awards:

Section One:

Gold Prize: Jacklyn Ellis Department of Health Management



Silver Prize: Emilie Laurin, Department of Health Management





Bronze Prize: Ketan Dulal, Department of Health Management

Section Two:

Gold Prize: Stacey Goldberg Silver Prize: Jennifer Cuillerier Bronze Prize Kyle Clark

Section Three:

Gold Prize: Bob Deziel

Silver Prize: Michel Arsenault Bronze Prize: Catherine Radtke

Congratulations to all.